Foot Tattoos

DSC_0171I hear people ask all the time “What is the most painful place to get a tattoo?” Everyone says the on the sides of the ribs. While I have never gotten inked in my ribs but I did recently get inked on my foot. I now think the foot is one of the most painful places to get tattooed. The ribs have more of a chance to have some padding on them unlike the foot. Which is pure bone on the top, the most common foot tattoo spot.

Foot tattoos, while painful, are very fun and easy to show off, especially if you are a girl. Guys, I don’t mean to alienate you but I just don’t see many men with tattooed feet. The only man I remember seeing with one is Ryan Dunn of Jackass and Viva La Bam. Dunn got a math problem tattooed on him for a scavenger hunt in the first season of Viva La Bam.

Foot tattoos are like any other tattoo accept they can take a little extra time to heal. For aftercare I did exactly what I did with my other tattoos. Basically, just follow what your artist says unless you already have an aftercare method of choice. I will soon be posting an aftercare page.

I did use A&D ointment for the first time rather than using ink fix like with my first two tattoos. I think it was slightly irritating to my skin but it still worked even though I did switch to ink fix after I got it back from my friend. Really, it is just a matter of preference.

When going in for a foot tattoo, remember to wear shoes that will not cover the area of the tattoo. Like ballet flats or sandals. And while it’s healing keep the tattoo uncovered. At least for a week or while the major peeling is happening.

Also, like with any tattoo remember to eat shortly before you get it done. They say you will not bleed as much and have less pain. When I got mine done it was still painful and I ate right before I got it done.

With most tattoos the pain eventually subsides a little. The foot is not like most tattoos. It is also not a big place so smaller tattoos are usually what you will get there. This means less time for the tattoo and less pain. Also, make sure to just relax and hold still. My foot kept moving up and down.

Afterwards, there will be swelling up to a few days. The best thing to do is relax and keep your foot up.

  1. November 9th, 2009

Leave a Reply

